Death Guard UI concept and idea thread.

mel_danes

Death Guard UI concept and idea thread.

Postby mel_danes at 18 Jul 2005, 08:57

Well folks I need some hope. I've been over a couple designs and they all fail horribly. I am trying to create a custom User Interface for the Death Guard, they are part of the Denizens of the Warp. My intial ideas have just been washing out. This is my first time creating a game interface. I have done graphic work for years, but this thing is killing me. Trying to tie all the nurgle and death guard imagery into a cohesive interface and having it fit into DOW and it's pre-existing window layout. I've done some mock ups for other races and they were kind of fun, easy almost. Well this button is all I'm happy with at the moment.

I've done nuglings hanging from console beams, had them bathing in funk behind panels. It all looked dumb to me.

Any ideas and input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

IBBoard
Administrator, Commissar
Administrator
Commissar
Progress to next rank:

38%

RE: Death Guard UI concept and idea thread.

Postby IBBoard at 18 Jul 2005, 11:10

I've just looked on the GW UK website and there isn't much Nurgle reference there - in 40K or in Fantasy :\
The simplest idea for Nurgle would just be a decayed version of the Imperial interface (or something close to it anyway), adding rust and possibly some slime to it.
The button (I'm assuming to replace the skull to open/close the bottom panel) looks good, although I'm not so sure about the blue. I can see that it is a Death Guard gas mask over a nurgle symbol, but the blue looks a little vibrant and out of place. Possibly something more pale and grey so that it looks more like fly wing colour? I'm thinking Space Wolf Grey at the moment, but I haven't uploaded my scan of the paint pot top stickers so I can't give you a hex code - maybe later :)
Out now: Dawn of War Texture/Skin Downloads