Dawn of War 2

NBKFuzzy
Standard Member
Standard Member
Progress to next rank:

68%

Dawn of War 2

Postby NBKFuzzy at 25 May 2009, 09:23

I was wondering if anybody here played DoW2, and if so if they would like to play a few games.

I got DoW2 expecting all my buds who were raving about it in beta where we played together since closed beta, would be BUYING IT. Unfortunately, its just me. And I am not very good at playing RTS online and would like a partner or two. :?
My muse is a fickle bitch, with a short attention span.

IBBoard
Administrator, Commissar
Administrator
Commissar
Progress to next rank:

38%

Re: Dawn of War 2

Postby IBBoard at 25 May 2009, 10:09

Nope, sorry, I've not bothered buying it. Everything I've seen looks worse than DoW1 (smaller games, less modding, and the ugliest skins I've ever seen including shiny Ork skin) so I didn't bother. That plus I don't have much time to play games these days with a combination of looking after my son and other projects.

I think Relic could have made a much better job of Dawn of War 2 than they did. Gaming in general is just going down-hill. When I buy a game I want to a) buy and own it, not have some half-arsed pseudo-rental system (although that's more other games than DoW2) and b) be playing a game, not watching the artwork.

I use Linux rather than Windows, and one comment in a Linux mag that I read recently really struck a cord over gaming. Basically, because Linux gaming isn't as flashy and up to date, they said you consider your game playing more and realise that the best games you played were actually ten years old with low res graphics and fewer colours. They might not have looked great, but the game play was far better and so you got engrossed, were challenged, and enjoyed it and so the lack of "uber-graphics" didn't make a difference.
Out now: Dawn of War Texture/Skin Downloads
At v0.1: WarFoundry (open source, cross-platform, multi-system army creation application)

stfas
Advanced Member