Standard Member
Standard Member
Progress to next rank:

21%

Where to start with Warhammer FB

Postby Briggsy at 24 Oct 2010, 00:25

Hi,

I'm new to WHfb and was hoping someone could help me get started:

I've brought the Island of Blood starter pack but have never painted models before, how should I start and is there anyone I can speak to for help and tips?

I would love to learn how to play the table top game, whats the best way of learning, reading the rules and learning myself or?

I would love to learn the lore behind WH, and the story behind it, wheres the best place to start and which novels to by?

Any advice would be great.

IBBoard
Administrator, Commissar
Administrator
Commissar
Progress to next rank:

38%

Re: Where to start with Warhammer FB

Postby IBBoard at 26 Oct 2010, 09:12

The best people to speak to are your local GW staff. They'll be able to start you off and show you tips, tricks and techniques as you progress. Alternatively, GW always used to have painting guides that got you started and showed you various techniques.

My first tips are: Undercoat well (preferably with a spray can), be patient, aim for neatness, be patient and aim for neatness. It's amazing how much a few rough edges can spoil a great model, or how good a simple paint scheme can look when just done with crisp edges.

Learning to game is easiest with a group. Either find a friendly local club (most should take beginners, but some might be more tournament-centric) or go to GW stores. They'll do intro games and games nights. You can learn a bit from reading the rules, but a real battle lets you learn the intricacies better.