13%

What to choose?

Postby Firsto at 24 Oct 2008, 19:16

Hello,

I'm new to all this warhammer
I'm not sure where to start fantasy / 40000

I'm totally into tactic game so this sound like a new hobby for me too
I'm good at spray painting / brush skills so that's no problem

Is there a place that explain all those clan / army set what they good for etc.? I try to read at GW book ,but it does not make any sense to me yet...

My Goal to paint some bad a$$ figure and to be able to play the game

IBBoard
Administrator, Commissar
Administrator
Commissar
Progress to next rank:

38%

Re: What to choose?

Postby IBBoard at 25 Oct 2008, 09:33

The best place to look for general background used to be the Games Workshop website. I just tried going to the Warhammer 40,000 section, though, and they've turned it all in to a huge store and the articles are buried and seemingly fewer :\

After a bit of digging, there's background for the 40K races here and Warhammer background here. The old layout used to be much more extensive and more useful for grouping of articles, though.

If you're trying to pick between the two systems as well then there's two main factors.

First is which background you prefer. I started with Warhammer but moved to 40K at the release of 3rd Edition. In gaming terms I prefer the 40K background. In terms of stories I'd much rather read a Warhammer novel, though (e.g. Gotrek and Felix or Genevieve).