Which space marine chapter to collect?

Crusader
New blood
New blood
Progress to next rank:

28%

Which space marine chapter to collect?

Postby Crusader at 08 Oct 2008, 12:26

Hi everyone, advice needed if anyone has any suggestions.

Im kinda new to this 40k stuff after a long absence (2nd addition was the last version of 40k i played)
Iv'e decided to collect a space marine chapter and have picked up the new codex which seems to have some cool new stuff in it, especially the Ultramarines with their characters but i'm a bit put off by the fact that they seem to be every newbies chapter of choice.

Anyone have any suggestions for other chapters worth looking at? i thought maybe Black Templars but any advice/suggestions are welcome.

IBBoard
Administrator, Commissar
Administrator
Commissar
Progress to next rank:

38%

Re: Which space marine chapter to collect?

Postby IBBoard at 08 Oct 2008, 19:51

It depends on what kind of army you want to collect. If you like the style of Ultramarines then you can always try to make them a bit more unique (although there's a limited scope). Black Templars are good for zealots, heraldic influence and the oddities like the mixed Neophyte/Initiate squads. Blood Angels are good for assault-heavy armies. Space Wolves are good for conversions and a different assault focus. Dark Angels are good for having a more stoic fire base, or a speed (Ravenwing) focus, or some unique elites (Deathwing).

So, what style of army are you looking for within the Space Marine range? :)
Out now: Dawn of War Texture/Skin Downloads
At v0.1: WarFoundry (open source, cross-platform, multi-system army creation application)

Kjetil136
3rd Year Cadet
3rd Year Cadet
Progress to next rank:

20%

Postby Kjetil136 at 09 Oct 2008, 03:33

There are many chapters out there that can fit into to almost any players style. One place that is great for looking up chapters and general information is Lexicanum.

http://wh40k.lexicanum.com/wiki/List_of_Space_Marine_Chapters